Bengal Cat Forums Forum Index Bengal Cat Forums
Dedicated to the Bengal Cat
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Fraud by Carrera
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bengal Cat Forums Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
liz slater
Senior Bengal


Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 60
Location: South Lincs

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually Michele in my case it was a breeder I had made contact with quite a while ago and had corresponded with and yes I most definitely did a lot of research beforehand. Anyone that knows me knows I don't buy on a whim.
She had very good quality cats from top lines over there.
There was absolutely no reason for me or the other breeder who lost money to suspect a problem.
I don't know if there is any way that buyers can be absolutely certain of the person they are dealing with in another country. I just want people to be aware there are risks involved. It has certainly made me wary.
Having said that I have imported a few Bengals and have nothing but praise for their breeders who have been wonderful and sent quality cats to me.



Regards

Liz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Sponsor
junglerose
Asian Leopard Cat


Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 1148
Location: Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 8:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The two breeders in question who seem to have committed the "fraud" are breeders who have been around for a long time, hence there was no clue beforehand for breeders in this country wanting to import a beautiful cat from as Liz said top quality lines.
Six months is a long time to wait for a kitten to import, and although they may have been quite honest at the start then you do not know what befell them in the intervening months.

This is not a case of a "breeder" setting up a site, taking the money and disappearing off the face of the earth all in the course of a few short weeks. No, these are "established" breeders who seem to have "turned bad". Not something you can easily insure yourself against.

Dreadful. Mad
_________________
Best Wishes
Elaine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liz slater
Senior Bengal


Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 60
Location: South Lincs

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you Elaine,

Very well put. I only posted on here to warn people to be careful. There are a lot of people suffering hardship because of the current economic climate overseas as well.

I think it is quite possible that the breeders in question found themselves in financial difficulty. I don't think the intention was to defaud but that doesn't make it any easier if you are the one who has lost money.

Regards

Liz

www.junglefirebengals.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
trocadero
Senior Bengal


Joined: 08 Aug 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The site seems to be up and running now:
http://www.marble-bengals.com/queens.htm

You can report internet fraud here: http://www.ic3.gov/default.aspx I'm not sure how useful it will be. Have you telephoned Carrera? I would even consider calling the police in her town. They might be able to suggest something.

Ultimately, I think the Paypal and credit card options are your best bet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimberley
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OMG why is she still being allowed to do it?
Back to top
frenchhorn34
Asian Leopard Cat


Joined: 03 Sep 2008
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Evil or Very Mad Go to the police, they helped my Brother when something like this happened to him ( not with bengals though )
_________________


http://www.photobucket.com/Fendi82808
http://www.youtube.com/Fendi82808
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
ceciliaolucifer
Bengal Kitten


Joined: 20 Oct 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi everyone,

Paypal couldnt help us because the time had expierd.

I tried to call her aswell but to no success, the number i had didnt work due to delayed payment.

Gosh Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
abooksigun
Asian Leopard Cat


Joined: 04 Jan 2008
Posts: 1863
Location: Hampshire

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh no I'm so sorry Sad I hope that you do eventually get this sorted my fingers are crossed
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
sue
Asian Leopard Cat


Joined: 29 Feb 2008
Posts: 315
Location: Luton Bedfordshire

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

there must be other avenues open, try the police, go to the papers, when we part with money in good faith we expect what we have paid for be that a kitten or a box of matches. We all are suffering money is tight, but that does not mean we have to cause more by being dishonest with others. Don't give up..... you will be fighting for yourself and others, oh and have another go with paypal sometimes if you nag them they will try and help.

sue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ceciliaolucifer
Bengal Kitten


Joined: 20 Oct 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone know how i can find a numberdatabase in the Usa?

In sweden we have sites where we can look up ppl to find their adress or numbers just by typing their name and number?

I dont even know how to find out her nearest policestation Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sponsor
ceciliaolucifer
Bengal Kitten


Joined: 20 Oct 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And i have also checked with TIBCS and she didnt renew her membership so they cant help me Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cootersmom
Asian Leopard Cat


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 243
Location: IA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can try http://www.yellowpages.com or http://www.whitepages.com. If she is unlisted or has a cell phone number you will not be able to find her number. Hope this helps. Confused
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ginnym
Asian Leopard Cat


Joined: 20 Aug 2007
Posts: 8922
Location: Cumbria

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ceciliaolucifer wrote:
Does anyone know how i can find a numberdatabase in the Usa?

In sweden we have sites where we can look up ppl to find their adress or numbers just by typing their name and number?

I dont even know how to find out her nearest policestation Sad


I think you should start with the police in Sweden since that's where you live. They should be able tell you what the legal situation is and how to take things further. Alternatively do you have what we call in the UK a Citizen's Advice Bureau - places someone can go for free advice about consumer issues.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Katie
Asian Leopard Cat


Joined: 31 Dec 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: Cream Tea Central, Devon, UK

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know if this helps..

http://www.whois.net/whois_new.cgi?d=www.marble-bengals.com&tld=com

Any website has to be registered and registration details are freely available. There is a phone number but it could just be a dead number?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cgoodall
Asian Leopard Cat


Joined: 02 Nov 2007
Posts: 824
Location: Englewood, CO USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Katie wrote:
I don't know if this helps..

http://www.whois.net/whois_new.cgi?d=www.marble-bengals.com&tld=com

Any website has to be registered and registration details are freely available. There is a phone number but it could just be a dead number?


The address and phone number are the address and phone number for Yahoo support. When you use Yahoo as your web hosting service, they give you the option of having your personal information left off the registry, and they put their own on there instead. My own info says my address is in EmeryVille, CA, but I live in CO. The phone they have is a CA number also.
_________________
Carol Goodall

"People that hate cats will come back as mice in their next life!"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bengal Cat Forums Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group