It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:58 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: a newbie
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 1:32 pm 
Asian Leopard Cat

Hello all

I've been lurking for a while now, and would like to ask if anyone has any advice they could pass on to me.

I live on my own and don't work

I've always had dogs in the past, but now - due to a disability - cannot promise a daily walk. I've decided that the Bengal would be the most dog-like breed of cat to have, and my first ever kitten (a Bengal) arrives early next month :D

My questiions are:

1. Am I quite mad to venture into the feline world with a Bengal kitten?

2. What advice can you give a complete newbie regarding this

many thanks in advance

hazel

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 1:43 pm 
Asian Leopard Cat

i personally dont agree with all the claims that bengals are "dog-like" but then i dont think they are particularly traditionally "cat-like" either...

they truely are a breed apart!

in answer to ur q's,

a) i dont think you are mad at all! i think you have taken the very wise decision to allow yourself to be owned by one of the most amazing and adorable animals of all time. i cant wait to hear how the little one affects your world

b) re. advice... kitten proof well, maintain a consistent attitude towards unpleasant behaviours, relish every minute you get to spend with him/her and remember that we are hear if you have any problems or need any help

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 1:49 pm 
I'm in the same boat as you, Oscar will be my first Bengal and although i'm bursting to get him i'm petrified that I wouldn't get it right concerning his needs. Any photos of your kitty? :D

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 1:51 pm 
Asian Leopard Cat

I had my dog for 15 years until recently (gone to doggy heaven now :( ) and got my two bengals in Jan this year.