It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 12:04 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2014 4:18 pm 
Senior Bengal

I put this in the tips & advice column because I've learned a lot from my kids in the last month.

I'm very happy to say that Jarvis and Pepper are getting along great and have adjusted well to me and my home! It has taken some time and patience on my part. Pepper remains the outgoing purr-factory and Jarvis is a little more nervous and shy even now. We're taking it slow and I pet him when he comes up to me and lays down for a nap with his sister.

They have such different personalities even being from the same litter and I can't emphasize how glad I am that I decided to get two of them. They keep each other company when I have to work and being a single professional, I sometimes end up having to stay late.

I've adjusted a lot of things about my schedule and the way I do things to accommodate for 2 curious kittens that want to get into everything. The thoughts of 15 week old kittens: Can I jump on it? Can I bite it? Can I eat it?

I've revisited all the electric cords in my house and have wound them up with velcro to ensure that the kittens don't have coils and coils of free cord to chew on. When they do get caught gnawing on them I tell them no and distract them into doing something else. The key to stopping behavior you don't want is to distract them into doing things that are acceptable when you can catch them.

I have used the spray bottle of water and that also deters bad behavior, but the new use of the laser toy is to get them interested in something else.