It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:56 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Raw food
PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 7:45 am 
Bengal Kitten

Hello I'm new to all this so any help would be great , I'm a proud owner a female bengal desexed kitten 4 months old now .. And I would love to give some raw food I have read so much on the net ppl say this then other ppl say this I just don't know what to do ... At the moment she is on Royal Canin kitten dry and whiskas kitten that's what the breeder was feeding her mum and dad and what she gave her till I picked her up and she said just to carry on feeding her this but I have read that it's not that good of food and other ppl say it good ..... So any help on the food would be great

Plus one more thing I have seen my girl looks like she is peeing in her water bowl and when I have the water running in the sink then turn it off she does it help .....
She my girl upset or what ????

Hope someone out there can help me .....

Post subject: Re: Raw food
PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 10:32 am 
Asian Leopard Cat

Panno wrote:
ppl say this then other ppl say this I just don't know what to do ...

You are never going to find a consensus as far as nutrition is concerned, either for cats or for humans. So you need to accept that. All you can really do, is do your own research, keep an open mind, and then find a good compromise between what your cat enjoys eating, and what meets your nutritional standards.

A good place to start is the "sticky" in the nutrition section of this forum. There's also a good general book on cat nutrition called "what cats should eat" by Jean Hofve, and another book that is more slanted towards raw feeding called "Natural Nutrition For Cats". Also, subscribing to "Bengals Illustrated" will help, as they've had some good issues on nutrition as well.