It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 4:42 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 8:58 pm 
Bengal Kitten

Not only am I a Bengal mommy but I am the mom of two great little boys one is 7 and one is 1 1/2. Now my question is My new furbaby Narnia is 2 and we just got her yesterday she is so scared of my 1 1/2 yr old (he likes to scream KITTY) Narnia will not come out of hiding when my 1 1/2 yr old is up and about only when my son is naping or sleeping for the night. My oldest son got to play with her and pet her and she was fine (I am sure because he is QUIET). About how long will it take her to adapt to the noise and things in my house and not to run and hide? Should I give my little one a treat to give to Narnia to show her he is not going to hurt her? If so what should I give him to give her?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:18 pm 
Asian Leopard Cat

hi there,

congrats on your new addition. i have no experience of young children with cats but common sense would tell me to give her a few days to settle first of all. once she is confident enough with her new surroundings you will hopefully find that she is more accepting of your little one.

i wouldn't try & force too much on her to start with as it may take her longer to settle if it scares her.

when she realises that your son isn't a threat, then go for the idea of a treat, but always have them supervised.

there are many cat treats on the market, or a piece of ham or a prawn. try a few with her yourself & by the time you discover which she likes she will probably be ready to take it from your son.

good luck, hopefully it shouldn't take too long :D

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:58 pm 
Asian Leopard Cat

Hi, welcome to the forum and congrats on your new 'family' addition. :D